The path

Sometimes I feel that living with Depression is like walking down a long path.

It could be scattered with Autumn leaves, with places to sit down and rest.

We can bring a flask of tea.

We can read a book,

but we look up to realise that we are alone.

There is no-one here.

walkway2

There is a lot of loneliness to living with this illness.

So many people leave.

§

Most of my friends have left.

We would leave too if we could.

We do not want to walk this path,

but that is not possible.

§

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Over the years I have tried to adjust to this.

I have become better at spending time alone.

I found new hobbies for myself.

§

Sometimes, fighting Depression is so exhausting that I would not have the energy to engage in conversation anyway.

So I am relieved at those time that I can rest,

and not have to deal with other people.

§

I do feel that isolation is part of the illness,

but that we can find ways to adjust.

 

Leave a Reply

