Train journey

This is a post about the day I met Depression on the train.

I’ll just add an image to cheer us  up..

img_6298

One day, I went down to collect the mail.

To my surprise a letter had arrived addressed to me.

I opened it and discovered I had been offered  a journey to Recovery.

A quick search online told me that such invitations are rare, and should not be passed over under any circumstances.

§

Excited, I began to pack.

On the day appointed, I called a taxi, made my way to the Train Station,

and settled in my carriage.

§

A gentleman came in, sat down and began to read a newspaper.

What are you doing here?

 

 I am coming too.

No, you are not. This is a journey to Recovery.

You are Depression and you are not allowed.

§

Depression looked cross.

I am coming.

But why?

Well, I have been living with  you for a long time.

I’m used to you.

I have a nice life with you.

I’m not leaving.

§

Yes, you are!

I am on my way to Recovery.

It is important that I leave you behind.

§

Depression raised his eyebrows, and proceeded to read the newspaper.

So I gave him dirty looks.

Finally, he lowered the newspaper.

I don’t care if you don’t like me.

I’m coming.

§

For the last time, you are not supposed to be here.

For the last time, I am coming.

§

That was that.

I got off at the last Station.

Depression followed behind.

He had the grace not to stay in the same Hotel,

but did stay nearby.

§

Every time I went to a cafe, he would sit near.

I would see him sipping his coffee.

§

When I went to see the sights,

there he would be complete with a map, a tourist guide.

He even showed up at the Opera.

He was dressed up in a coat and tails,

all spruced up and confident.

He ignored me,

ignored my appeals to leave me alone.

I even wrote him a letter.

It was no good.

I am still glad I accepted my Invitation to Recovery.

I am grateful for the new experiences.

But I wish Depression had stayed behind.

§§

walkway2

This is a post about Recovery, and how Depression can remain with us.

I understand I have made steps forward, but Depression is still part of my life.

I would be easier if Depression had been left behind,

However, it still exists in my life in some form,

although perhaps not as severe as the first experience.

§

Perhaps, all illnesses leave a mark.

When people recovered from Tuberculosis in the past,

they still felt cold on a warm day, and had a tendency to get a cold or the flu.

I did not expect Depression to follow me into Recovery.

I really believed I could completely recover, and forget Depression.

However, that has not been the reality.

I still rely on coping skills to fall back on when Depression strikes.

§§

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

