Brothers and Sisters

If it were not for my siblings..

My  siblings place value on me.  They make me feel that I have a place.

They rely on me when they are in trouble.  I do the bulk of the housework.

§

My siblings always thank me, as this gives them greater freedom.

But when I leave the house, I have no value.

§

As soon as I close the front door, I can see that I am just the girl who had a breakdown.

This remains that way, until I come home again, and I begin to feel that I have value.

§

I know that I am lucky to have brothers and sisters.

I am lucky not to be alone, to have value in someone’s eyes.

§

But I wish I did not have to contend with stigma outside.

noteavator

 

 

Leave a Reply

