Metaphor

This is a metaphor that I use to explain Recovery.

I think of a workroom,  the workroom is full of tools.

This is where I learned to fight depression.

The tools are things that I learned over the years, and some are weapons I employed to deal with mental illness.

§

However, now I am in Recovery.

Few if any of these tools work.

They were created to manage depression.

I need new tools now.

§

The mistake that I made in the beginning was not to realise this.

I thought that I could apply the same knowledge to recovery as I had to depression.

Recovery is very different from depression, but still requires management.

Now I have to create new tools, as Recovery is a daily challenge.

sepiabutterfly

Leave a Reply

