Afterwards..

Somehow I made it  out of mental illness.

I managed to remove from my life stays in a hospital, interviews with Psychiatrists, medication.  I no longer need these things.

§

However, life after mental illness is a challenge.

I have to deal with isolation, my own limitations, and the prejudice never went away.

§

I admit this calls for more courage than I have.

I only keep going because I am afraid the illness will return.

The illness did not die.  It is only dormant.

If I lower my guard it may return, complete with all the paraphernalia.

I don’t want to encounter Psychiatrists again, or medication.

§

I really want to remain free.

So I keep moving forward.

§§

l_2

Leave a Reply

