How do we know

if we are in Recovery?

Once I was talking to a Counsellor, and I was trying to explain my life in Recovery.

He listened for a while, and then he said:

Well maybe you are not in Recovery?
If you say it is this hard?
Maybe you still have depression?

§

I answered that I was in Recovery.

How do you know?

§

So I tried to explain how I knew.

One, I reacted to things.  I would enjoy a book, a movie, a treat.  I had been unable to do this when depressed.

Second, an episode of depression would only last for a few days, not several months.

This impressed him, and he understood that changes had occurred.

L

§

However, it did give me food for thought.

How do we know we are in recovery?

I did not know I was in recovery for ten years.

Then finally, I went on the Internet and sought the personal stories of people who had the same experiences.

I began to realise that I shared the same feelings as a group of people, all who claimed they were in Recovery from mental illness.

I realised that I was in that group.

§§

How do we know we are in Recovery?

I know my life is different, than when I had depression.

I am no longer lethargic, and I am alert.

I still have episodes of depression, but they only last a few days.

I can think more clearly.

I face incredible challenges, but I have become increasingly confident that I no longer face mental illness, merely the aftermath.

img_2603

Leave a Reply

