Recovery

When I moved into Recovery, I remained  a dependent person.

This was a shock, as I had not envisaged this.  I had aimed for independence.

But now I still needed support from my family, and I needed a Counsellor.

§

I had dreamed of living apart as an independent person, with no need of a therapist ever again.

§

The shock that I felt as it became clear that I needed support was enough to almost catapult me back into depression.

I had to come to terms with this new set of circumstances.

I had to find a Counsellor, as it was necessary.

I had to say the words ‘I need support’, and ‘I can’t do this alone.’

§

I had romantic ideas of independence which I had to let go, and I had to adjust to this new reality.

phone

Leave a Reply

