When I am asked to describe Depression, I say ‘Sadness’.

But Depression is not sadness.

It is not sorrow in the same way that Grief is not sorrow.

§

Depression is much more than sadness.  But I am aware that the person I am talking to wants me to sanitise this experience.  They cannot handle the whole truth.

§

So, in the end I am forced to sanitise Depression, and I tell them,

‘Oh, I just feel sad sometimes.’

§

If that was the case, no-one would need medication, or a Doctor.

However, society will still flinch at the mere mention of Depression, and they flinch from the whole truth of this illness.

§§

candle

Leave a Reply

