Recovery

The following essay shares my own thoughts about Recovery, and is not meant to be taken literally, nor do I share empirical data.

§§

When did Recovery first happen?

People began to report that they were better in the 1990s.

§

Why?

Psychology was no longer a closed subject.  It was easy and cheap to buy a paperback about Psychology and related matters.

People began to practise self-therapy.

§

Any other reason?

Psychology was discussed on shows like ‘Oprah’, and it was presented in  a style that was easy to understand.

Also, certain foods came onto the Market,..yoghurt, organic vegetables, olive oil.

I believe that this new, nutritious food helped us to rebuild the damaged pathways in our brains.  I did not have access to such foods in the 1980s, such imports were not available.

§

How did people know that they were better?

There was a recognition that things had changed internally.

For example, cognitive skills and memory might improve.

Or a person would be more alert.

§

How does Recovery feel?

Not brilliant on some days.

There is a risk of Relapse.  I have experienced this myself.

Mental illness is hard to throw off, and  a shadow of the illness will remain.

§

How do you keep moving forward?

I keep moving forward, as I wish to avoid a Relapse.  I am also motivated to stay out of Hospital.

§

How long does Recovery take?

I believe that it takes a lifetime.

It will takes the rest of my life to maintain Recovery.

I suppose it depends on the person.

But in my own case, I do not believe the process will end, it is on-going.

§

What is the worst aspect of Recovery?

The worst aspect is PTSD. This can happen to some people as we endured trauma with our illness.

§

What is the best thing about Recovery?

I do this for my family, and it means  a lot to me that I could come out of the illness, and find ways of helping them.

§§

girl

Leave a Reply

