Stigma

What is Stigma?

§

Stigma involves hostility, and often rage.
Stigma is a form of obsession.
The perpetrator is obsessed with the victim of their hatred.

§

I have known individuals to become obsessed with me and my mental illness for years.

They talk about me every day, and they follow me around.

§

I have also experienced barely contained rage.

§

I have experienced hatred.

§

Stigma means that the person will be de-humanised.  They are no longer seen as a person of value, or someone who deserves respect.

§

I have also witnessed delight and triumph if they believe that their tactics to undermine me are working.

§

There is no point appealing to their morals, ethics, or better nature.  I cannot contact their family, as often this type of prejudice has been promoted in their own home.

§

There is very little I can do.  The legislation which exists to protect us from Hate Crime is very recent, and was not available to me in the past.

So many times I felt, and was powerless.

§§

IMG_1089

Leave a Reply

