I remember

wanting to be free.

I asked God.

§

But I am tethered to mental illness.

It runs in the  family.

It affects my family in how much they drink and issues like debt.

§

Two of my friends were suicides.  I can’t forget them and I promised that I would not.

But it means that I cannot break free from this illness, which led to their deaths.

§

There are so many strands holding me to mental illness.

I try to recover, I try to move forward, to achieve something.

But this illness follows me,  remains in my life.

pink

Leave a Reply

