Euphoria

I have walked a long road looking for Therapists, and trying to find someone who might help.

One thing I notice is that they sometimes spin off into euphoria.

§

For example, once I spoke at length to my Doctor.  He was so excited that I had spoken for nearly an hour, that he became euphoric.  He ran outside, and I could see him sucking on a cigarette, and excitedly telling a Nurse how I had opened up.

I returned to my shy self later, so he was plunged into despair.

§

Another time, I wore make up.  This sent the Nurses around me into a tailspin of euphoria, in which they excitedly told me how I ‘looked so much better’, and should wear it ‘every day’.

I did not wear it every day, so that led to disgruntled Nurses.

peonies copy

§

Another time, I allowed a Therapist to brain wash me into saying that I had imagined most of my problems, and that I did not have Depression.  His exaltation and euphoria followed.  However, I knew deep down that I had real problems, so I returned to my former position.  This led to insistence, rudeness, and bullying from the Therapist.

§

Over the years, I have learned to be wary of euphoria.  It is a bad sign.

§

There is nothing to be euphoric about.  We have Depression, or we would not consult a Therapist.  So why become euphoric?

Depression is a serious condition, often accompanied by serious problems.  These could be financial, or grief, or isolation.

There is little to be joyous about.

§

If we do not join in with the euphoria, then they are angered.  But if we did, we would look silly for a start.  I mean a patient and a Therapist both acting out euphoria?

But it is a lie anyway.

We can barely crack a smile, because we have Depression, and that is why we are there.

§§

phone

Leave a Reply

