Thoughts

(This is a post which mentions prayer and religion.)

Is God present in mental illness?

When I first became ill, I thought God was angry with me.  He wanted to punish me, and I had done something wrong.

I told this to my parents, and also to the doctors.

They all laughed at the idea.

§

Mental illness is so dark, that it is hard to believe that God is still here, by our side.

I lost my faith for a while.

But I found my way back.

§

I think God taught me a lot.  He taught me about

  • vulnerability,
  • compassion,
  • that other people are in pain, and they need a friendly smile and comfort.

He taught me to spend at least some time each day talking to him.

§

He taught me to pray anyway, even if there was no answer, even if I did not believe.

§

I learned a lot, and I think that God was there, even though I was frightened of mental illness, and I believed that God had abandoned me.

§§

pink

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

