Families

Q.  Why is it so difficult to come from a dysfunctional family?

We need a safe place.

Also, it can be disappointing to know that we can be hurt by the people who are supposed to love us.

§

The levels of stress and exhaustion can be very high.

There can be care needs in a family which has problems.

Q.  Is there anything you can do?

I did hear of a programme in America.  Families invited children to Sunday dinner.  The children saw a real family sit and eat together.

The organisers claimed that these children grew up wanting to have a family life, and were less likely to sabotage their future by getting involved in crime.

§

This study impressed me, and I wondered how can we help people who come from dysfunctional backgrounds in small ways.

§

Mint & Gold 3

I learned domestic skills, as I felt that if I could cook and clean, then the house would be welcoming, and feel more homely.

I feel that this did make a difference.  I take care of the family home.  I used to sit and feel depressed, or read books.  But now I look after the house, and try to keep it clean and bright.

§

Q. Do people recreate dysfunction?

Yes, I believe that this happened in my own family.  People recreate what they know, even if it is not beneficial.  They need to learn new patterns of behaviour.

I have to hope it is possible, but it is a challenge.

§

Charity begins at home.  It is easier to reach out and help a stranger, than it is to face our own dysfunction.  But now I understand that my family needs me, and I try to help.

§§

Leave a Reply

