Isaiah

This post will discuss religion.

pink

When Isaiah saw God, he said Yahweh was seated on a high throne, surrounded by Angels.

§

When I first read this, I was thirteen.  The next words surprised me as I realised Isaiah was not glad or proud that God had chosen him.  He was unhappy, and overwhelmed with a sense of his own sinfulness.

§

I could not understand, but I do now.  To meet God is to meet perfection, to come face to face with it, and so face to face with my own imperfection.

Every time I am near to God, I can see all my flaws.

§

I can also see the plans of God, how He had wished for a perfect Universe, and had hoped that we, His children, would be perfect.  But that has all been ruined by sin.

§

I understand that the Garden of Eden is a story, but it does help to explain how sin and temptation can ruin God’s plan.

Adam and Eve disobeyed God, and so broke away from Him for a time.  When they returned, they knew they had rebelled and they hid from God.

I can see all the times I broke away from God, was led by pride and self-interest.

I can see how He needed me to do certain things, and how I did not listen, even when the answer was right in front of me.

§

I do not feel that this state of affairs will ever change.

God will always be my Father, and perfect.

I will always be me, struggling along, making mistakes, and feeling down in the dumps about being human.

§

This is the cost of following God.  It can be painful to commit to Him, to leave our old life behind and follow Him.

Being a Christian is not comfortable or fun. It is painful as once we follow God we will see our true selves.  There is no hiding place.

§

I catch glimpses of God’s plan.  I can see it in the evening sky, in the clean water at the ocean, free from pollution.  I can see it when people reach beyond themselves, and make a sacrifice for another person.

I can see it sometimes even in myself. But I can also see fragmentation, pollution, the litter on the streets.

I can feel the grief of God, his frustration, disappointment.

I can see how little I have to offer, but I have to try anyway.

I can see the journey ahead.

pink

§§

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

